The Seahorse Challenge Swim 2010

Jun 28th, 2010 | By | Category: Events, News, Seahorse Swim

East Dorset Open Water Swimming Club has held its inaugural Seahorse Challenge open water swim race in the beautiful Studland Bay on 27 June 2010. The race had been eight months in the planning and attracted a high class field of competitors from all over Southern England and the Midlands.

Seahorse Swim 2010

Seahorse Swim 2010

The event was held by kind permission of the National Trust and run in support of the National Trust and the The Studland Seagrass and Seahorse Study Group. Studland is the only coastal area in Britain where there is a known colony of breeding seahorses which makes it a very special place.

Club President Ali Budynkiewicz said “We had perfect conditions on the day, warm balmy weather and a nice flat calm sea. It really couldn’t have been better!” She said that the race had been a fantastic success and the organising committee had been greatly supported by the RLSS Poole and Branksome Lifeguards who provided the safety cover on the day. The club had been able to make a substantial donation to the lifeguards for the purchase of a number of swim buoys used for the Seahorse race.

The swim was over a standard triathlon distance of 3.8km. Starting from Knoll Beach, it took a triangular course heading towards the Training Bank, back towards the beach and then parallel to it back to the start / finish line.

The 93 swimmers who took part were very complimentary about the swim and the organisation behind it and were determined to return next year. The winner of each category was given a magnificent print of a painting of a seahorse by popular local artist Donna Stacey.

Also, the first male and female local non-wetsuit swimmers over the age of 40 were presented with the Roy Harding Memorial trophies. This special award was to honour the memory of Roy, a member and great supporter of the club who sadly passed away last year.

The oldest lady swimmer in the race, Jenny Ball from the Isle of Wight, was presented with a special Lush gift pack.

Guy Giles

Guy Giles

Danielle Pryor

Danielle Pryor

Seahorse Swim 2010

Seahorse Swim 2010

Seahorse Swim 2010 images credit Danni Callahan

Male non wetsuit (MNW)
Male wetsuit (MW)
Female non wetsuit (FNW)
Female wetsuit (FW)


Men non wetsuitRichard Smiles56.02Bournemouth Dolphins
Men wetsuitGuy Giles55.17City of Oxford SC
Ladies non wetsuitDanielle Pryor55.45Sevenoaks Tri
Ladies wetsuitEmily Abbot1.08.16EDOWSC
Roy Harding Trophy - MenRory Fitzgerald1.00.19Winchester Penguins
Roy Harding Trophy - LadiesKate Mason1.10.05Weyport Masters
Oldest Lady completing the race (prize donated by Lush)Jenny Ball1.42.20IOW- Marlins SC


TypePositionSwim TimeSwimmer IDSwimmerClubNotes
MNW100:56:02121Richard SmilesBournemouth Dolphins
MNW201:00:19105Rory FitzgeraldWinchester PenguinsRoy Harding
Trophy Winner
MNW301:03:32126Matt WardleKenilworth Masters
MNW401:04:59118Stuart PurcellEDOWSC
MNW501:07:20111Roy McWhirterKenilworth Masters
MNW601:07:56110Les JessopWareham SC
MNW701:08:12109Nicholas IrelandWeyport Masters
MNW801:08:20114Ian Morrisunattached
MNW901:09:51125Andrew Walkerunattached
MNW1001:11:59102Jim BoucherLido Legends
MNW1101:14:08107Alex HarperSLSC
MNW1201:14:30115Andy MyersEDOWSC
MNW1301:14:42104Will Collings-WellsEDOWSC
MNW1401:16:41101Ben BennettSLSC
MNW1501:17:33120David RimmingtonEDOWSC
MNW1601:21:35113Ian Middleunattached
MNW1701:24:05116Richard PetittSalisbury Stingrays
MNW1801:25:16106David FraserCopthal Masters
MNW1901:28:28119Philip Richardsonunattached
MNW2001:31:11124Mark VidesEDOWSC
MNW2101:32:05112Peter MeteauWareham SC
MNW2201:32:40108Kevin HillEDOWSC
MNW2301:33:43122Richard TrickerSLSC
MW100:55:17212Guy GilesCity of Oxford SC
MW200:59:59201Richard AddisWindsor SC
MW301:00:38219Darren Morganunattached
MW401:02:09220Gavin MunneryWincanton SC
MW501:03:33206Lloyd Clark-Morrisunattached
MW601:04:29203Glyn Bevansunattached
MW701:06:38216Richard LinesRingwood Rapidos
MW801:08:35213Andrew GillVoTwo
MW901:09:13225Mark ShaklesRLSS Poole Lifeguards
MW1001:10:09210Vince Fowlerunattached
MW1101:10:42202Mark BarrowEDOWSC
MW1201:12:14218Phil MerrittWincanton SC
MW1301:12:56217Colin Lowansunattached
MW1401:13:05215Sean Kirkwoodunattached
MW1501:13:50211Gary GilesCity of Oxford SC
MW1601:14:53226Jeremy Wallerunattached
MW1701:15:24221Andrew Newburyunattached
MW1801:18:56223Carl ReynoldsSLSC
MW1901:21:30222Michael ReganWessex Wizards
MW2001:21:36209Adrian Feasbyunattached
MW2101:21:37224Steve SadlerEDOWSC
MW2201:31:11207Keith CummingsFerndown Otters
MW2301:33:11205Stephen Boytunattached
MW2401:39:01208Sergio Di Notounattached
MW2501:39:03204Andy Blondenunattached
FNW100:55:45316Danielle PryorSevenoaks Tri
FNW201:03:23306Claire HaywardEDOWSC
FNW301:08:24308Martha HolmanEDOWSC
FNW401:10:05310Kate MasonWeyport mastersRoy Harding
Trophy Winner
FNW501:10:20305Catherine Hartleunattached
FNW601:10:25323Amanda WorsleySLSC
FNW701:13:35319Sarah SpurlingEDOWSC
FNW801:14:04318Lindsey ShentonIOW –Marlins SC
FNW901:19:46301Linda AshmoreWeport Masters
FNW1001:19:53315Joanne PostinBasingstoke
FNW1101:20:11309Nicola MalinSpencer
FNW1201:22:11314Julie MerrellPoole SC
FNW1301:24:38317Kate RobartsBasingstoke
FNW1401:25:05320Kate ToddEDOWSC
FNW1501:28:09324Beverley MurrayEDOWSC
FNW1601:29:31304Liz CollinsWessex Wizards
FNW1701:30:32302Jennie BoytEDOWSC
FNW1801:32:15311Ellery McGowanLido legends
FNW1901:36:02312Ann McGrathEDOWSC
FNW2001:40:12303Naomi BranstonSLSC
FNW2101:43:15321Sarah TunnicliffOSS
FNW2201:50:11325Trudy PalmerEDOWSC
FW101:08:16401Emily AbbotEDOWSC
FW201:09:48405Nicci Dossettunattached
FW301:10:10417Katie Pollardunattached
FW401:17:45413Jessicah MateauWareham
FW501:22:32419Margaret RouseEDOWSC
FW601:24:08410Louise Lowansunattached
FW701:24:10408Liz Hallunattached
FW801:26:41421Kirsty Stauntonunattached
FW901:27:10424Rebecca Wilkinsonunattached
FW1001:28:09420Georgie Shandunattached
FW1101:29:59422Yvonne TibbleEDOWSC
FW1201:30:30403Lorraine CrookCaldicot SC
FW1301:31:23411Penny Marshallunattached
FW1401:34:58406Margaret Edgellunattached
FW1501:37:30418Valerie ReganWessex Wizards
FW1601:40:31404Jane Doddunattached
FW1701:42:20402Jenny BallIOW – Marlins SC
FW1801:43:26409Rosemary JohnsonIOW – Marlins SC
FW1901:43:33414Caroline MorrisSalisbury Tri
FW2001:45:02423Elizabeth Walkerunattached
FW2101:48:38407Rosa EvansKenilworth masters
FW2202:02:37425Melanie McKenzieunattached

Did not Finish (DNF) and Did not Swim (DNS)

DNF322Rebecca WillsIOW – Marlins SC
DNS103Thomas ButlerSLSC
DNS117Matthew PollardSLSC
DNS123Michael VesseySLSC
DNS214Bruce Graham-Cookunattached
DNS307Joanne Hitchensunattached
DNS412Elinor MateauWareham
Tags: ,

One Comment to “The Seahorse Challenge Swim 2010”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Rob Swain and CarolineCooke, E Dorset Open Water. E Dorset Open Water said: Seahorse Swim 2010 Press release and results of 3.8km race on 27 June 2010 […]

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" then you are consenting to this. Some of these cookies are essential to make our site work and others help us to improve by giving us some insight into how the site is being used. These cookies are set when you submit a form, login or interact with the site by doing something that goes beyond clicking some simple links. We also use some non-essential cookies to anonymously track visitors or enhance your experience of this site. If you're not happy with this, we won't set these cookies but some nice features on the site may be unavailable. To control third party cookies, you can also adjust your browser settings. By using our site you accept the terms of our Privacy Policy.